Week #37 12th-18th September

The annual Cransley Hospice 10km road race was held on Sunday 18th Sept in Cranford. The event which is put on as fundraiser for the local hospice offered a good warm up for next week's autumn relays at Sutton Coldfield. There were 4 Harborough AC runners amongst the 274 strong field with 3 of them placing well inside the top 10, and all finishing within the top 3 of their respective age categories.

Leading the club and the rest of the field home was Matt Driver winning the event in a personal best time of 0:34:06 followed closely behind by clubs mates Sean Fenwick (1st MV45) & Gareth Wood (3rd MV35) finishing just 4 seconds apart for 7th and 8th respectively. The 4th member of team was our ever present Dave Oram coming home as first MV70 & capping a notable day for the club.

While the above were taking on the undulating country roads of Northamptonshire, 2 other club members were taking on a different challenge in the form of the Stanage Struggle fell race. The 9.9km (6.2m) course, which has 355m (1165ft) of ascent, passes through Peak District countryside, beginning in the village of Hathersage progressing via track, grass, path and moorland up onto Stanage Edge, out to High Neb, before a quick downhill return leg back to the village. First club member home was Adam Brooks in 42nd place stopping the clock at 0:48:56 with Martin Hughes crossing the finish in a time of 01:06:25 for 226th position.

18 Member members made the start line for the Market Harborough Parkrun, with Joanne Colbert producing a personal best performance in a time of 22:40, while Pam Hilliam joined the 50 club, all exclusively ran at the Welland park event. Tony Harrison was sole representative at the Leicester Victoria Park edition & whilst Andrew Holt was swapping his run for the Cambrian 50 mile sportive, Carrie enjoyed some park run tourism by completing the 32nd running of the Dolgellau parkrun.

- Adam Eales.


Week #37 12th-18th September

Week #36 5th-11th Sept

Week #35 29th Aug - 4th Sept

HAC Annual Awards